Every March, Saskatchewan Polytechnic presents the Co-operative Education Student of the Year award. The award honours a co-op student who has demonstrated professional promise, academic achievement and practical application of theory.

In addition to a certificate of achievement and a cash award, winners earn bragging rights and a great highlight for their resume.

The award is part of National Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Month, an initiative led by Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Learning Canada (CEWIL Canada). CEWIL promotes the value of co-operative education programs at 79 universities, colleges and polytechnicals across Canada.

Who’s eligible?

To be eligible to apply for the Saskatchewan Polytechnic Co-op Student of the Year award, you must have successfully completed one or more Co-op work terms and the academic semesters preceding them.

How to apply

Your application must include:

  • completed application form (pdf)
  • cover letter (maximum 500 words) explaining “What Co-op Education Has Meant to Me”
  • copy of your resume and most recent official transcript
  • letter of recommendation (preferably from a co-op employer)

Please email the completed application form along with your cover letter, resume and letter of recommendation to ian.morrison@saskpolytech.ca by March 1, 2024.


2022 Co-operative Education Student of the Year

Ryan Squire close-up, showing him standing while wearing a black coat.

Ryan Squire, Engineering Design and Drafting Technology

Ryan Squire is our Co-op Student of the Year for 2022. Ryan has just completed his Engineering Design and Drafting Technology diploma at the Moose Jaw campus. He completed all three of his co-operative work terms with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police’s asset management team in Regina. Ryan credits this experience with giving him the skills to be successful in and Computer Aided Design (CAD) department.     





Laura Jensen wearing a brown coat and jeans sitting on a stepLaura Jensen, Business Information Systems

We are excited to announce that Laura Jensen is our Co-op Student of the year for 2021. Laura is a Business Information Systems student at the Moose Jaw Campus. She is a former teacher of math and science and has transferred those skills into success in her Saskatchewan Polytechnic program. Laura successfully completed her work term at Nutrien in a remote role. Upon returning to campus, she has developed into a leader in the classroom.


Starlene Hermanson headshot, wearing a gray suit.Starlene Hermanson, Business Information Systems

We are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2020 Co-op Student of the Year is Starlene Hermanson. Starlene is a second year Business Information Systems student. She is an exemplar student, achieving and maintaining an exceptionally high academic standing throughout her entire program. Starlene very successfully completed her work term at the Saskatchewan Health Authority and was highly regarded by her supervisor and colleagues. Starlene is an exceptional role model for other students and we are very proud to have her associated with the Co-op program. 

Pauline Johnson headshot, wearing a white suit.Pauline Johnson, Business Information Systems

The 2019 Co-operative Education Student of the Year is Pauline Johnson, a full-time student enrolled in the Business Information Systems program. In 2019, Pauline completed a Co-operative Education work term with Westridge Construction. During her studies, Pauline has maintained a very high academic standing. Pauline is an excellent ambassador for both Saskatchewan Polytechnic and Co-operative Education!

Kyoungcheon Choi close-up, holding his two awards plaques.Kyoungcheon Choi, Business Information Systems

The 2018 Co-operative Education Student of the Year is Kyoungcheon Choi, a full-time student in the Business Information Systems program. In 2018, Kyoungcheon completed a six-month work term with SaskTel in Regina. During his studies, Kyoungcheon achieved a very high academic standing. Kyoungcheon is an excellent ambassador both for Saskatchewan Polytechnic and Co-operative Education.

2017: Kiara Brost, Business (Information Systems)

2016: Kayla Anderson, Business (Human Resources)

2015: Justin Lefebvre, Instrumentation Engineering Technologies

2014: Asim Cheema, Business (Accountancy)

2013: Tayler LaBelle, Architectural Technologies

2012: Nicole Kreklevich, Business (Marketing)

2011: Meagan MacLean, Business (Marketing)

2010: Madison Miller, Business (Human Resources)

2009: Gregory Gatin, Business (Human Resources)

2008: Elyse Sitzer, Architectural Technologies

2007: Ashlyn Moore, Accountancy

2006: David Miliken, Water Resources Engineering Technology

2005: Yixiang Wang, Electrical Engineering Technology 

2004: Leland Kreklewich, Accountancy 

2003: Kimberly D. Timbers, Architectural Technologies