Indigenous Students' Centres

Indigenous Students’ Resources

Indigenous Students' Centres

Saskatchewan Polytech has an Indigenous Students' Centre in each of our campus cities. These centres provide support to Indigenous students and helps to ensure that their experience is the best it possibly can be.

Each centre hosts a variety of cultural activities and events, provides a quiet space to study and a number of services including:

  • Space to study and socialize
  • Computers and kitchens to use
  • Cultural, educational and recreational workshops and activities
  • Smudging ceremonies
  • Soup and bannock lunches

Services that support

The centres provide a safe space for students to connect with Elders, Knowledge Keepers or cultural advisors who provide support on both school and personal matters, helping students cultivate success in their lives.

Centres are open from Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Indigenous Student Advisors

Saskatchewan Polytechnic helps support Indigenous student success through dedicated student advisors. Indigenous student advisors create student success by providing:

  • A friendly face, helpful connections to services and support
  • Orientation to Saskatchewan Polytechnic and surrounding community
  • Referrals for tutorial support
  • Funding, housing, budgeting and employment information
  • Connections to outside resources and networks
  • Assistance organizing study groups and informational, social and cultural events

Contacts

Jason Seright

Director, Indigenous Strategy
306-659-3792
jason.seright@saskpolytech.ca

Deanna Speidel

Indigenous Strategy Coordinator
306-659-3751 
deanna.speidel@saskpolytech.ca

Janet Korpan

Administrative Assistant
(306) 659-3748
Janet.Korpan@saskpolytech.ca

Pihtikewé – Kihèw Waciston 

Indigenous Students’ Centre
(Cree: Eagle’s Nest Indigenous Students’ Centre)
Room 4.210
Moosejaw.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Rosemarie Zaba Stewart

Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 2.205
306-691-8214
306-690-3777 (cell)
rosemarie.zabastewart@saskpolytech.ca

Anita Cameron

Indigenous Student Centre Coordinator
Room 4.210
306-691-8313
anita.cameron@saskpolytech.ca 

All Nations Gathering Place

Indigenous Students’ Centre
Rm 225
princealbert.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Shelley Belhumeur

Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 127, Academic Centre
306-765-1789
306-961-4555 (cell)
shelley.belhumeur@saskpolytech.ca

Jennifer Brockman

Indigenous Student Centre Coordinator
Room 225, Academic Centre
306-765-1922
jennifer.brockman@saskpolytech.ca

Annette Lanoie

Indigenous Student Advisor
Room A211, Technical Centre
306-765-1798
annette.lanoie@saskpolytech.ca 

Maureen Ledoux

Indigenous Student Advisor
Room H137, Technical Centre
306-765-1781
maureen.ledoux@saskpolytech.ca

ê-sihtoskâtoyahk ᐁᓯᐦᑐᐢᑲᑐᔭᐦᐠ   

Indigenous Students’ Centre
(Cree: strengthening/supporting each other)
Rm 121.4
saskatoon.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Brian Gallagher

Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 103
306-659-4212
306-291-6447 (cell)
brian.gallagher@saskpolytech.ca

Shane Stack

Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 103
306-659-4802
306-361-5797 (cell)
shane.stack@saskpolytech.ca

Derek Yee

Indigenous Student Advisor
School of Health Sciences
Room 121.3
306-659-4681
derek.yee@saskpolytech.ca

Genevieve Davis

Educational Counsellor for Indigenous Students
Room 121.4.2
(306) 659-4287
genevieve.davis@saskpolytech.ca

Alana Ross

Indigenous Student Centre Coordinator
Room 121.4
306-659-4103
alana.k.ross@saskpolytech.ca

Pēžik Tēwē-ihkan, Pēžik Mihtē-ihkan

Indigenous Students’ Centre
(Saulteaux: One Heart, One Drum Beat)
Rm 153
regina.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Meranda Andersen

Indigenous Student Counsellor,
Post-Secondary Programs
Student Development
Room 228
306-775-7430
Meranda.Andersen@saskpolytech.ca

Kim Fellner

Indigenous Student Advisor,
School of Health Sciences
Room 150.2
306-775-7378
kim.fellner@saskpolytech.ca

Greg Riehl

Indigenous Nursing Student Advisor
School of Nursing
Room 150.1
306-775-7383
greg.riehl@saskpolytech.ca

Aaron Tootoosis

Indigenous Students’ Centre Coordinator
Room 153
306-775-7380
aaron.tootoosis@saskpolytech.ca