The School of Nursing has a proud and rich history as one of the primary providers of superior nursing education in the province of Saskatchewan, with a reputation that is recognized provincially, nationally and internationally.

Saskatchewan Polytechnic has been a leader in quality nursing education for registered nurses, registered psychiatric nurses, registered nurse/nurse practitioners and licensed practical nurses for 48 years.

Saskatchewan Polytechnic’s role in nursing education was launched in 1967 with the establishment of the Diploma Nursing Program at what is now Saskatchewan Polytechnic Saskatoon Campus, Idylwyld Dr.

In 1972, the Department of Post-Secondary Education assumed responsibility for all diploma and certificate nursing education in the province and, with the closing of the hospital based programs the establishment of what is now Saskatchewan Polytechnic Regina Campus, the Psychiatric Nursing and Nursing Assistant programs came under the jurisdiction of the provincial government. Additional programs were readily developed and implemented to meet the changing health care needs (such as Psychiatric Nursing and Practical Nursing).

Saskatchewan Polytechnic continued to respond to the changing education needs and offered specialization in various areas of nursing practice.

Historical highlights

  • Concurrent with the major restructuring of Saskatchewan Polytechnic, the Nursing Division and the position of dean of nursing was established in 1998. In 2014, further restructuring designed to align programs with economic and public sector partners resulted in the adoption of the Schools model. The School of Nursing was created July 1, 2014.
  • A Nursing Leadership Team, comprised of the  dean, associate dean, program heads, continuing education consultant, program development consultant, institute for nursing scholarship director and administrative coordinator, provides leadership in the development, implementation and evaluation of innovative programs using a student focused approach.
  • In 2003, the Nursing Division adopted the Boyer Model of Scholarship, which was endorsed by the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN), to promote and facilitate scholarly work in all four domains of discovery, teaching, application and integration. Five scholarship teams were established to advance initiatives relating to teaching best practices, patient safety, mentorship, health care informatics, and interprofessional education.
  • In 2004, the Nursing Division established a Scholar-in-Residence Program to provide faculty with access to expert consultation and advice in their pursuit of scholarship. Subsequently the Institute for Nursing Scholarship was established in 2008 to further support faculty in scholarly endeavors.
  • Today, the School of Nursing offers 16 innovative and award-winning programs to more than 3,600 students annually across the three campuses located in Saskatoon, Regina and Prince Albert.
  • Our diverse educational programs prepare graduates to meet the professional standards and competencies necessary to ensure that the people of Saskatchewan receive high quality, safe and competent care by registered nurses, registered nurse/nurse practitioners, registered psychiatric nurses and licensed practical nurses. School of Nursing programs also prepare nurses for specialization in perioperative nursing and critical care, and contribute to multidisciplinary education with diabetes education.
  • In May 2006, the Nursing Division was recognized for its leadership in nursing education with the presentation of the Elizabeth Van Valkenburg Award for Leadership in Nursing Education by the College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS).
  • In February 2007, the Nursing Division was the recipient of the Saskatchewan Healthcare Excellence Award (SHEA) in recognition of its leadership in healthcare.
  • The Nursing Education Program of Saskatchewan (NEPS) was expanded by 100 seats in 2005, 18 seats in 2007, and 74 seats in 2008. The NEPS Second Degree Entry Option was launched in 2005 with 50 seats and was expanded by 10 seats in 2008 and 18 seats in 2009. This expansion bought the total seats in the NEPS program to 512. With the establishment of a two-provider model for nursing education, the last intake into the NEPS was in 2010.
  • The Saskatchewan Collaborative Bachelor of Science in Nursing program was launched in Regina and Saskatoon in 2011 with an intake of 345 students. In 2013, the SCBScN program was launched in Swift Current with a cohort of eight students.
  • A state-of-the-art interprofessional simulation learning centre was opened at Saskatchewan Polytechnic Regina Campus in 2008 and at Saskatchewan Polytechnic Saskatoon Campus, Idylwyld Dr. in 2011.
  • The Practical Nursing exit credential was changed from a certificate to a diploma in 2008.
  • The IEN Assessment Centre was opened in 2008, the first of its kind in Saskatchewan.
  • The Psychiatric Nursing diploma program was launched in 2008 with an intake of 30 students. In 2013, Saskatchewan Polytechnic achieved degree granting authorization for the delivery of the Bachelor of Psychiatric Nursing Degree completion program. This represented Saskatchewan Polytechnic‘s first degree program.
  • Saskatchewan Polytechnic and the University of Regina collaborated in the development of a Collaborative Nurse Practitioner Program leading to a Master of Nursing (Nurse Practitioner) credential for implementation in September 2014.