Menu
Indigenous Services

Indigenous Student Success Strategy

Tansi, anin, edlanet'e, hau and tanshi. Welcome to Saskatchewan Polytechnic on Treaty 4 and Treaty 6 Territories and the homeland of the Métis people. At Sask Polytech, helping you achieve your educational and career goals is our top priority. No matter where you come from or who you are, we work hard to ensure everyone has an equal opportunity to succeed. 

The Indigenous Student Success Strategy was developed to provide all Indigenous students with a variety of services to enhance the student experience and remove barriers to success. Learn more about the resources available for Indigenous students.

Some of the services we offer to Indigenous students include:

  • A summer transition program
  • Access to Indigenous Students' centres and Elders
  • Indigenous student advisors, who build relationships of support through personal connection
  • Financial support through a number of scholarships and bursaries.

We also have an Indigenous community coordinator, who works to raise awareness about Sask Polytech in Indigenous communities throughout the province, both urban and rural.

Indigenous students find success

  • Enrolment for Indigenous students has increased 31 per cent since 2011-12. Sask Polytech has 3,700 Indigenous students making up more than 18 per cent of the student population.
  • In 2014-15 the employment rate for Sask Polytech's Indigenous graduates was 84%. Indigenous students are an important part of our campus community.
  • 98% of students share they are satisfied or very satisfied with the Indigenous Student Success Strategy services.
  • 92% of indigenous students would recommend their academic program at Sask Polytech to others.

Get started today!

Apply Now
Ask Us
Join Us

Contacts

Jason Seright
Director, Aboriginal Strategy
306-659-3792
jason.seright@saskpolytech.ca

Deanna Speidel
Aboriginal Strategy Coordinator
306-659-3751 
deanna.speidel@saskpolytech.ca

Gwen Bear
Aboriginal Community Liaison 
306-659-3940 
gwendolyn.bear@saskpolytech.ca

Janet Korpan
Administrative Assistant
(306) 659-3748
Janet.Korpan@saskpolytech.ca

Pihtikewé – Kihèw Waciston 
Indigenous Students’ Centre
(Cree: Eagle’s Nest Indigenous Students’ Centre)
Room 2.202
Moosejaw.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Xavier Fisher
Indigenous Students’ Centre Coordinator
Room 2.202.01
306-691-8313
xavier.fisher@saskpolytech.ca

Rosemarie Zaba Stewart
Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 2.205
306-691-8214
306-690-3777 (cell)
zabastewartr@saskpolytech.ca

All Nations Gathering Place
Indigenous Students’ Centre
Rm 225
princealbert.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Shelley Belhumeur
Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 127 Academic Centre
306-765-1789
306-961-4555 (cell)
shelley.belhumeur@saskpolytech.ca

Jennifer Brockman
Indigenous Students’ Centre Coordinator
Room 225 Academic Centre
306-765-1728
jennifer.brockman@saskpolytech.ca

Jennifer Davies
Indigenous Student Advisor
Room A137 Technical Centre
306-765-1798
306-960-2019 (cell)
jennifer.davies@saskpolytech.ca

Carrie McCloy
Indigenous Student Advisor
Room A211 Technical Centre
306-765-1701
306-930-7212 (cell)
carrie.mccloy@saskpolytech.ca

ê-sihtoskâtoyahk ᐁᓯᐦᑐᐢᑲᑐᔭᐦᐠ   
Indigenous Students’ Centre
(Cree: strengthening/supporting each other)
Rm 121.4
saskatoon.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Brian Gallagher
Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 103
306-659-4212
306-291-6447 (cell)
brian.gallagher@saskpolytech.ca

Danielle Jeancart
Indigenous Students’ Centre Coordinator
Room 121.4
(306) 659-4103
danielle.jeancart@saskpolytech.ca

Shane Stack
Indigenous Student Advisor
Room 103
306-659-4802
306-361-5797 (cell)
shane.stack@saskpolytech.ca

Derek Yee
Indigenous Student Advisor,
School of Health Sciences
Room 121.3
306-659-4681
derek.yee@saskpolytech.ca

Pēžik Tēwē-ihkan, Pēžik Mihtē-ihkan
Indigenous Students’ Centre
(Saulteaux: One Heart, One Drum Beat)
Rm 153
regina.ISC@saskpolytech.ca

Meranda Andersen
Indigenous Student Counsellor,
Post-Secondary Programs
Student Development
Room 228
306-775-7430
Meranda.Andersen@saskpolytech.ca

Kim Fellner
Indigenous Student Advisor,
School of Health Sciences
Room 150.2
306-775-7378
kim.fellner@saskpolytech.ca

Greg Riehl
Aboriginal Nursing Student Advisor
School of Nursing
Room 150.1
306-775-7383
greg.riehl@saskpolytech.ca

Aaron Tootoosis
Indigenous Students’ Centre Coordinator
Room 153
306-775-7380
aaron.tootoosis@saskpolytech.ca

©